Question: Do You Lose If You Scratch On The Break?

What are the rules for 10 ball?

In 10-ball, shots have to be called , which means that the player must call a ball and the pocket in which to make the ball, usually by pointing to a pocket with his finger or cue, and stating the number of the ball he intends to make in that pocket (not necessarily the lowest-numbered ball on the table, e.g.

if a ….

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

Do you lose if you scratch on the 8 ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.

Do you lose if you scratch on the break in 9 ball?

After a player scratches on the break shot, the incoming player cannot play a push out. 6. FOULS. When a player commits a foul, he must relinquish his run at the table and no balls pocketed on the foul shot are respotted (exception: if a pocketed ball is the 9-ball, it is respotted).

What happens if you scratch in 9ball?

2. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. … However, if the cue ball is scratched when making the nine ball, the nine ball is respotted.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?

Should a player fail to pocket his designated group ball, he shall lose his turn. 3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.

Is Table scratch a real rule?

A table scratch happens when you hit the cue ball or object balls in a way that isn’t legal, but don’t actually pocket the cue ball. This is sometimes called a “foul”. These are the rules for a legal shot: The cue can strike the cue ball only once.

What happens if you scratch on the break?

If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.

Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?

Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?

8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).

What is a scratch in 8 ball pool?

In almost every version of 8-ball pool, scratching is considered a foul when shooting at object balls other than the 8 ball. When scratching on an 8 ball shot, the offending player forfeits the game to his or her opponent and the game is over.